On Michael Jackson and raging hormones (not because of him)

Standard

More than just the high pitched ooh’s and uhh’s, Michael Jackon’s songs are notable for the poetic and rich messages capable of being transmitted to a wide range of audience straight on.

Forget that this is a post mortem tribute to the King of Pop. It’s actually one of those hormonal days wherein slight wave frequencies or disturbances in the whatsoevers of daily living can greatly affect your mood. Every once in a while I find it healthy to talk to myself, either a pep talk or some good slapping about the course my life is going through.

Just like what I said previously, the older I get, the less sense I make. Ain’t that right. So I figured today on my way to work that I needed a good kick in the butt from no less than the most influential person on my decisions – me. It should probably be true to all. Anyway, happiness is subjective, and on some parts of life I figured I am not finding this. Well:

Happiness and sadness run parallel to each other.  When one takes a rest, the other one tends to take up the slack.  ~Hazelmarie Elliott (“Mattie”)

Won't be too hard to choose between the two.

So, maybe this “happiness” is taking the back seat today, I figured. I stuffed my ears with the headsets from my Mickey Mouse MP3 (which is so cute by the way) and tried to forget I can’t sing on my 15-minute walk to work. First song: Man in the Mirror. After acknowledging that it’s me who make the decisions in my life, of course others just tend to influence it in varying degrees, I was poignantly struck with MJ belting:

I’m Gonna Make A Change,
For Once In My Life
It’s Gonna Feel Real Good,
Gonna Make A Difference
Gonna Make It Right . . .

That’s Why I Want You To Know
I’m Starting With The Man In The Mirror
I’m Asking Him To Change His Ways
And No Message Could Have Been Any Clearer
If You Wanna Make The World A Better Place
(If You Wanna Make The
World A Better Place)
Take A Look At Yourself, And Then Make A Change
(Take A Look At Yourself, And Then Make A Change)

Well, not that I look like a man, for crying out loud. It’s just that the words couldn’t have come at a better and opportune time. This song was followed by This Is It and I quote:

This is it, Here I stand

I’m the light of the world

I’ll feel grand

Okay, so I am taking it out of context from a song which is actually written and sung about love. But in my ears this morning, it seemed as if MJ was making a conversation through his song – don’t think paranormal please. Gloomy clouds, being a girl today (scientifically translated as having dysmenorrhea), and all other factors I normally wouldn’t care about – i.e. uncle picking his nose in public – won’t seem to matter much.

Menses: to be taken seriously or else...

Think happy thoughts. Optimism. When the world seems to turn its back on you, maybe it’s just rotating in its axis to be the driving force behind you.  Boy, I can’t wait for that to happen soon. Hello World.

Special: Tree for the Blog:

On my way to work, from Boon Keng Station

Leave a Reply

